Reviews

What people are saying about The Balkan Lodge Hotel




Great overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We booked this hotel after looking on trip advisor as we were due to go to a gig at the 02 Academy in Oxford.We arrived early about 12.30 &our room was reset, had a very warm welcome.Bedroom &bathroom were very clean &staff very hospitable.Breakfast next morning was delicious.Will definitely return if the artist we went to see is here again

Reviewer:Sarah I | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 20 hours ago


Comfortable, spotless, and good value for money - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Balkan Lodge Hotel for one night, and was very pleased with the standard of accommodation. After a slight hiccup (my room hadn't been prepared since the previous guest had been in it) I enjoyed my night's accommodation. It was a good location for my business meeting the next day, the whole place was spotless and immaculately kept, TV and WiFi worked well, and the breakfast was good. I shall certainly stay here again.

Reviewer:Philip B | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 4 days ago


Nice place to stay in oxford - Rating 5/5

Nice, clean and not expensive place. The staff is very welcoming and the breakfast is very good

Reviewer:Jacopo B | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 6 days ago


Highly recommended! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights.It is clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly and courteous.The breakfast was a buffet with fruit juices, yoghurt, cereal etc and a choice of fried breakfast from a menu - all delicious.It is well located - about 30 minute walk to the High street or take a side street to Cowley Road for a selection of pubs, cafes and restaurants (within 10-15 minute walk)

Reviewer:ann h | Mon 28th May 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Balkan Lodge 26 May 2018 - Rating 4/5

A good comfortable stay and an excellent breakfast. Very helpful manager.

Reviewer:John H | Mon 28th May 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Perfect Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday for two nights. The location was superb. It took no more than 25 mins to walk into the city centre and if you use the local bike shares it was even less. We used Mobike and it’s a fantastic idea and way to get around the city.The hotel was extremely clean and the staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Great local knowledge. The room was smaller than a Premier Inn/Travelodge type place as this was a converted house, but it had a lovely homely feel, and plenty big enough for a weekend. Nice to have somewhere to park the car too, safe and secure. Taxi was about £5-8 depending on the time of day.Overall, we had a great weekend and great value for money.

Reviewer:Adam H | Mon 21st May 2018 | 4 weeks ago


5/5 - Rating 5/5

Nothing in common with the real Balkan;) Decent breakfast and very helpful staff.

Reviewer:Andras K | Wed 21st Mar 2018 | 2 months ago


Stay in Oxford 7-12 march 2018 - Rating 5/5

A very nice place! Tidy, quiet, friendly service, good breakfast (coffee a bit thin, but it seems to be a british tradition).Walking distance from High Street. We really enjoyed our stay! Highlyrecommended.

Reviewer:Maria S | Fri 16th Mar 2018 | 3 months ago


Nice Staying - Rating 4/5

Very good Service and Hospitality ! Nice to be at BALKAN LODGE !!

Reviewer:Enzo C | Tue 13th Mar 2018 | 3 months ago


Mother’s Day visit - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome and comfortable bed. Have stayed before;room 4 needs a proper shower and hair dryer. Knew what to expect but would stay again. Good parking.

Reviewer:Diane M | Sun 11th Mar 2018 | 3 months ago


Balkan lodge - Rating 5/5

Very warm clean cosy room with comfy bed and warm en suite bathroom. Excellent breakfast and service. Friendly owner. Will be staying again later in year.

Reviewer:Mrs Melissa L | Tue 6th Mar 2018 | 3 months ago


Eggs - Rating 4/5

Best poached eggs I've ever had

Reviewer:Robert H | Fri 2nd Mar 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely little gem - Rating 5/5

The welcome from the owners is wonderful and they could not be more helpful.The rooms are small but very comfortable and warm and the bed excellent.Just up the road is a nice pub for dinner and the cooked breakfast on offer at the Balkan Lodge is filling and a great way to start the day.

Reviewer:Howard D | Mon 26th Feb 2018 | 3 months ago


Balkan lodge - Rating 5/5

Very clean and comfortable within easy walking distance to the city very good breakfast and John was a good host!

Reviewer:Dennis B | Thu 22nd Feb 2018 | 3 months ago


Perfect B&B! - Rating 5/5

Everything is perfect at Balkan Lodge - a good welcome, very, very clean, a delicious breakfast, good parking, walking distance to the city centre.

Reviewer:Mrs Ann G | Thu 21st Dec 2017 | 5 months ago


Week end at Balkan Lodge - Rating 5/5

It was a real pleasure spending my last week end at Balkan Lodge hotel in Oxford.The friendly atmosphere, comfortable room and last but not least, nice people, made my stay perfect.

Reviewer:Catalin B | Tue 12th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


One Day Visit to Oxford for concert. - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel, very clean, very courteous and friendly staff. Well presented and well cooked breakfast. Conveniently situated on the '3' and '3A' bus route into Oxford. Ample free parking. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:STUART N | Mon 11th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


Nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

It's a cosy nice small hotel. Very clean rooms, decent breakfast. Easy commuting to the center. Much better than small B&B around.

Reviewer:Olga S | Sun 10th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Easy to find, ample parking, friendly staff, very clean, good breakfast, fast check-in / checkout. Definitely stay again.Thanks!

Reviewer:Tan H | Fri 8th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


Friendly and clean room - Rating 4/5

Good value for money and a most pleasant stay.Wanted to give 4 1/2.Easy access to Oxford but a lot less than the town centre hotels.

Reviewer:Jenny H | Mon 27th Nov 2017 | 6 months ago


Unpretentious convenience- Rating 4/5

Comfortable;good breakfast;within easy and picturesque walk of city centre along river towpath

Reviewer:michael bernard g | Mon 20th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Very good stay - Rating 4/5

A warm welcome awaited us on arrival. Made to feel at home. Accommodation and food were very good. Balkan Lodge was well located for us, close to city centre(15 min walk), frequent bus service, ample parking at Lodge. A new location for future stays for us in Oxford. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Laurence N | Sat 18th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Cheap and cheerful. - Rating 4/5

Good location close to Oxford city centre, with parking at an affordable price. Rooms a little date, and shower in a bath, with very thin, cheap and old towels but apart from that a very good trip.Staff were really helpful throughout.

Reviewer:Brian D | Thu 16th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Long weekend - Rating 4/5

Well maintained and furnished. Excellently clean. Good, freshly cooked breakfast. Close by bus service to the city. Helpful host.A great place to sleep when visiting Oxford.

Reviewer:Brian G | Thu 16th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Wonderful experience in Balkan Lodge in Oxford - Rating 5/5

The Lodge is a great place to stay. It is clean, has all things you expect from a lodge. The breakfast is personlized and great, the people are friendly and nice. You really feel on vacation when staying there. IN addtion, down town is on a walkable distance (20 min), the lodge is well reachbable by car.

Reviewer:Mr Michiel B | Sun 5th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Comfortable stay with free parking! - Rating 4/5

I stayed in a comfortable single room with all the facilities I needed for a one night stayFree parking is an added bonus in Oxford, well placed for both the city recentre by bus and places outside of Oxford via the ring roadBreakfast was a huge choice of serve yourself with freshly cooked delicious options, filter coffee was a bonus tooFriendly staff, easy check in and outCould maybe look at triple glazing for front rooms?

Reviewer:Anita B | Fri 3rd Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely weekend in Oxford, helped by comfortable rooms with all the facilities expected. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, and hosts were very helpful and friendly. Good value for money.

Reviewer:Patricia J | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 7 months ago


Family visit - Rating 4/5

Very conveniently situated hotel near our family and not too far to walk into the city. Really good well cooked breakfast with good choices.

Reviewer:Mrs N | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 7 months ago


Balkan Lodge Oxford- Rating 3/5

Very clean. Good food. Polite accommodating staff

Reviewer:Helen B | Tue 24th Oct 2017 | 7 months ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Fìrst time staying here and would definitely recommend it.... clean, tidy , lovely room , nice breakfast,easy parking and hotel staff poitie and curtious

Reviewer:Michael S | Mon 23rd Oct 2017 | 7 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

As I have already put it in the title everything was excellent. Accomodation, breakfast and stuff. I really enjoyed my time.

Reviewer:Bruno A | Wed 18th Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Surprisingly good...!!! - Rating 5/5

It doesn't look amazing from the outside and the internal decor is a little dated, but it is wonderfully clean and tidy, well decorated, comfortable and the host was extremely accommodating towards my late arrival and early breakfast requests. Can't fault the place really and would happily stay there again

Reviewer:Mr C | Fri 13th Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Reviewer:| Tue 10th Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Two good friends - Rating 4/5

Excellent location for easy access to city centre.Efficient dealing with reservation process.Not a speck of dust to be seen.Valuable carparking facility and delicious freshly cooked breakfast.Just one comment ... aged towels in bathroom could do with replacing!!

Reviewer:Mrs Gill K | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Mr - Rating 4/5

I enjoyed the one night stay. Very clean accommodation and clean bath .The customer service of the receptionist was first class.I can’t wait to lodge at Balkan Lodge again ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewer:Alex M | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Great for weekend stay in oxford - Rating 5/5

This is our second visit ,and would recommend this hotel.very clean and comfortable rooms ,really helpful staff,secure car park free wifi and an easy bus journey into city centre.if we need to come again to Oxford we will stay here

Reviewer:Paul D | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 8 months ago


Comfortable and Inviting - Rating 5/5

The host was a congenial, helpful man. The site was clean and comfortable. An amazing, made- to- order breakfast is included. For example, one option is the English bacon, sausage, toast, and beans.A fifteen minute walk brings you to the heart of Oxford. It is on a bus line that goes to downtown Oxford or to Wallingford, a charming village on the Thames. This is where the "Midsommer Murder"series was filmed.

Reviewer:Dita Erika H | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 8 months ago


Very Good - Rating 5/5

Cannot fault this well located small hotel. Very well run and immaculately clean we would definitely stay at Balkan Lodge again.

Reviewer:Stephen H | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 8 months ago


September weekend - Rating 4/5

All we needed. We'd recommend The Balkan Lodge Hotel. Easyto get to town centre and back (buses or walking - leave your car at the Balkan). Great. 4 stars 'cause we never give 5.

Reviewer:Mr R B | Tue 26th Sep 2017 | 8 months ago


Comfort and convenience - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our one night stay;all very modern and clean, and a great breakfast. Easy to find, easy to park, and a good walk or easy bus ride into the centre. Busy traffic might trouble light sleepers.

Reviewer:Mary I | Tue 26th Sep 2017 | 8 months ago


Good- Rating 4/5

Clean comfortable with a good breakfast.Great location with the hop on hop off bus going past the door.A couple of good restaurants nearby.

Reviewer:Elizabeth R | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 8 months ago


My Stay - Rating 5/5

Very clean and tidy good place to stay, I also liked I wasn’t charged for parking which a lot of places do, no complaints I would stay again.

Reviewer:David B | Sat 23rd Sep 2017 | 8 months ago


Stayed for three nights - Rating 5/5

The Lodge was very clean with helpful and friendly staff. Within walking distance of town with excellent transport routes. This makes the Balken Lodge an ideal location. We had a great three night stay.

Reviewer:Andy M | Sat 23rd Sep 2017 | 8 months ago


Really lovely place - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 days and everything was absolutely perfect. Lovely room and great bathroom, really good mattress.The owners are very kind and helpful.We'll definitely come back!

Reviewer:Frances H | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


Great option - Rating 5/5

It's a great choice:The service is very good, the food is also good, and its location is convenient (not exactly in the city centre) but it's within a reasonable walking distance.

Reviewer:Ruben G | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


Very accommodating staff - Rating 5/5

I arrived very late at almost 2:00am and they waited up late to make sure that I get to check-in. Lovely people and super clean bathrooms!

Reviewer:Zandie B | Fri 15th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


Stay - Rating 4/5

Stay was very comfortable, Room was simple and stylish.Breakfast was great as was the staff.

Reviewer:Angela M | Thu 14th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


B&B \'Gem\' in Oxford - Rating 5/5

“This B&B accommodation is excellent &highly recommended. The property, both inside &out, is immaculate, spotlessly clean &tidy, very well maintained &presented. Our room was very comfortable &quiet with very good wifi reception. Lovely lounge &bar available for guests' use was a most welcome facility. The 'full breakfast' was tasty &generous &on-site car-parking easily accessible &had enough spacing for all guests. Location was very convenient to central Oxford - 45 minutes walk or 10 minutes bus ride (Buses 3 or 3A) - bus stop about 100 metres from accommodation. Host, John, was very friendly &helpful. This B&B will enhance your enjoyment &stay in Oxford - look no further !”(Australian Couple - Stayed 2 Nights - July 2017)

Reviewer:Jennifer P | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


a weekend in Oxford - Rating 5/5

Our stay was great. The accomodatios was very satisfying. The location, the room with the bathroom and the breakfast were all pleasant. We really enjoyed our weekend!

Reviewer:Corinne H | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Are stay was excellent and great customer service. Wolud stay again.

Reviewer:keith g | Mon 7th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Lovely Hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel was very clean. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Within easy reach of Oxford by bus or lovely walk along the Thames. Would certainly recommend.

Reviewer:Elfed J | Sat 5th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Weekend - Rating 4/5

Clean, friendly and good location for our purpose. Good choice of breakfast and reasonable price for Oxford.

Reviewer:Mrs. Penny H | Tue 1st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Clean room and good breakfast - Rating 4/5

The room is clean and comfortableThe breakfast is very niceA nice place to stay in oxford

Reviewer:Un I N | Mon 31st Jul 2017 | 10 months ago


Very pleasant - Rating 5/5

Room was clean and tidy. Friendly welcome and efficient service for breakfast. Couldn't ask for more.

Reviewer:Rachel S | Sun 30th Jul 2017 | 10 months ago


A great two night stay - Rating 5/5

This was a lovely, clean and modern guesthouse. The location was just as we hoped, with free parking and a pleasant walk into the City. The breakfast was excellent quality and the hosts were accommodating and helpful. We would stay again and recommend it.

Reviewer:Alyson G | Tue 25th Jul 2017 | 10 months ago


A pleasant time at the BLH - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at he BHL. We got a very well cooked breakfast, the rooms were comfortable and clean and our hosts did everything to keep us smiling. If you don't mind to have a walk of about half an hour to the city, the BHL is perfect for visiting Oxford. Of course you can also use the bus or a taxi to Oxford city, but have in mind the lovely way along the river Themse will calm you down after visiting the overcrowded city centre.

Reviewer:Fabian R | Tue 25th Jul 2017 | 10 months ago


Warm friendly and relaxing - Rating 5/5

Felt well looked after - good breakfast - very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere room clean and comfortable bed

Reviewer:Andrew S | Mon 24th Jul 2017 | 10 months ago


Brilliant \'Gem\'B&B in Oxford - Rating 5/5

This B&B accommodation is excellent &highly recommended. The property, both inside &out, is immaculate, spotlessly clean &tidy, very well maintained &presented. Our room was very comfortable &quiet with very good wifi reception. Lovely lounge &bar for guests' use was a most welcome facility. The 'full breakfast' was tasty &generous &on-site car-parking easily accessible &had enough spaces for all guests. Location is very convenient for central Oxford - 45 minute walk or 10 minutes bus ride (Bus 3 or 3A) - bus stop about 100 metres from accommodation. (For those who enjoy Nepalese/Indian cuisine - a great restaurant 'Everest Nepalese' nearby in Howard Street.) Host, John, is very friendly &helpful &promptly replies to email communication. This B&B will enhance your enjoyment &stay in Oxford - look no further !

Reviewer:Jennifer P | Sat 22nd Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Value for money- Rating 4/5

A very clean hotel with all the facilities you need for a comfortable stay.Lovely garden area and public places clean spotless and welcoming.Rooms small a bit dated but clean and comfortable.Breakfast was lovely.Owner was great sooo polite and a lovely sense of humour.A great little find in an over rated and expensive industry in Oxford.

Reviewer:Cheryl E | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel on first and last night of a 1 week visit in UK. Good value for money. Nice and clean rooms, very friendly and helpful reception personnel, car park available at the back. We sincerely recommend this small and cosy hotel.

Reviewer:Dag M | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel on first and last night of a 1 week visit in UK. Good value for money. Nice and clean rooms, very friendly and helpful reception personnel, car park available at the back. We sincerely recommend this small and cosy hotel.

Reviewer:Dag M | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Nice stay close to the city - Rating 4/5

We had a really nice stay in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and gave very good suggestions. The rooms were small but very clean. The breakfast was very good.Only one suggestion ...The curtains were very light. We woke up very early every day because of the light from outside.Thanks for the very nice stay!

Reviewer:Inge De C | Sat 8th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Good Value B&B Hotel near Oxford - Rating 4/5

Good breakfast made with speed &excecution by receptionist/chef. Local knowledge on taxis &bus fares &drop off points in Oxford was brief &to the point. Very convenient on Iffley Road.

Reviewer:David O | Tue 4th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Neighborhood outside of town - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and quiet. Polite and friendly manager. Easy to bus into town if you don't have a car.

Reviewer:Nancy S | Mon 3rd Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Totally satsfied - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was spotless, inside and out and the level of service was excellent. We were particularly grateful that, having arrived much later than intended for a wedding locally, the hotel quickly organised a taxi into Oxford and saved the day.

Reviewer:MartinK | Mon 3rd Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


My stay at Balkan Lodge Hotel - Rating 5/5

Good place for relex and delicious breakfast.

Reviewer:Wing Ching JoeT | Wed 28th Jun 2017 | 11 months ago


Good value for money - Rating 5/5

Great service, clean and at a walking distance to the city center

Reviewer:Beatriz Diez E | Wed 28th Jun 2017 | 11 months ago


glenn - Rating 5/5

very clean and pleasant hotel, with friendly host. ideal location for our visit to oxford and Blenheim palace. nice breakfast.

Reviewer:Glenn L | Mon 26th Jun 2017 | 11 months ago


Family stay at Balkan Lodge - Rating 4/5

This was our 2nd stay at Balkan Lodge. Great value for money. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Great breakfast. I would recommend this to anyone.

Reviewer:Neil C | Sat 24th Jun 2017 | 11 months ago


Excellent short break - Rating 5/5

John the host was welcoming, pleasant and could not be more helpful. Hotel was spotlessly clean and the location made it easy to get into city

Reviewer:Terry S | Sat 24th Jun 2017 | 11 months ago


Very welcoming - Rating 4/5

The hotel was very welcoming and checin was very efficient.we were there on the hottest day of the year. Although there was no air conditionig, the room felt cool. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We left early and did not have the breckfast.

Reviewer:IanB | Fri 23rd Jun 2017 | 12 months ago


Can\'t fault the hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation,would highly recommend

Reviewer:DAVID E | Fri 16th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


All good - Rating 5/5

Excellent value accommodation with good car parking close to Oxford. Friendly welcome, room had all we needed, full English breakfast was freshly cooked and really tasty. Bus stop outside - 10 mins to centre or lots of taxix.

Reviewer:Glenys T | Wed 14th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Very nice personal - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Balkan Lodge. The room was clean and comfortable. Besides, the personal was very efficient and welcoming. We also enjoyed the breakfast. We really recommend it :)

Reviewer:Barbara C | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


A real find in Oxford - Rating 5/5

I was delighted with the accommodation. I have stayed in Oxford a few times and enjoyed this hotel the most. Access to the centre is so easy. The room was very comfortable and clean .Breakfast was excellent. The fact that the owner runs the property makes all the difference. I will definitely be back

Reviewer:Josephine C | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Warm welcome and a yummy breakfast. - Rating 4/5

Met with a warm welcome from the host. We were able to check in early, given great advice about where to go in Oxford. The room was spotless. Breakfast was yummy. We had a great stay at Balkan Lodge and hope to return soon.

Reviewer:Helen I | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Great hotel- Rating 5/5

Looks great inside and out. Lovely kept gardens. Inside nice and clean full of pictures and plants. Lovely clean room/ ensuite.Bed was very comfortable. Hotel manager very welcoming and helpful. Everything you could possibly want at breakfast which was 7pnd PPP. Would happily stay again.

Reviewer:jacqueline h | Sun 11th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


great experience - Rating 5/5

had a wonderful time there. Comfortable bed, clean room and friendly staff. I had everything I needed to relax after a long day and get a good nights sleep. Would stay here again.

Reviewer:Melanie D | Sat 10th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


ONLY ONE NIGHT - Rating 4/5

Easy to find, great location if you don't mind a stroll into town or by the river.Free parking, clean, friendly and welcoming.I only stayed one night but will definitely stay here again when next in Oxford.

Reviewer:Gerald G | Sat 10th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Very homely and freindly- Rating 5/5

We found this hotel to be perfect for our trip.the owner was very helpful and friendly .the hotel itself was immaculately clean and breakfast was very good

Reviewer:paul d | Mon 5th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Great value and location - Rating 5/5

Whilst hunting for somewhere to stay in Oxford for two couples spending the day perusing the city and planning for a theatre event in the evening we soon discovered that staying anywhere in the city centre would be very expensive.The Balkan Lodge Hotel was the perfect alternative, a little way out of the city but easily accessible via a short bus ride or taxi journey. Better still, the hotel is just down the road from the River Towpath which presents you with a glorious walk into town (about 25-30 minutes) I would recommend this option, it really made our day.The hotel itself was ideal for our needs for one night, plenty of parking, pretty well kept gardens front and back, small but clean and smart rooms, lovely breakfast and most important:friendly, helpful people! Great choice!

Reviewer:Mr. John W | Mon 5th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Short Break - Rating 5/5

Excellent hospitality with a very obliging and friendly manager who could not do enough for you.Hotel spotlessly clean with onsite car parking. Easy access to city by bus.Would stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr M | Wed 31st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Immaculate hotel - Rating 5/5

We knew this hotel was not going to be grand, or an architectural masterpiece, but it was spotlessly clean, nice staff, and the breakfast was great too! Also enough parking that we could leave our car there and go off for the afternoon, ditto the following morning after checkout - this is a plus in Oxford. Very satisfied.

Reviewer:Brian M | Tue 30th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic bank holiday stay at the Balkan in Oxford - Rating 5/5

The Balkan was an excellent place to stay;the own, who has had the hotel for twenty-two years, was extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived to when we departed.The rooms were a good size, shower was good and the breakfast was fantastic. It only took us half an hour to walk in to the centre of the city along the picturesque path next to the Thames.Cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and it was very good value as we stayed over the May bank holiday so book early!!Will definitely go back to the Balkan hotel when we return to the area again.P.S. As we were walking around Oxford we did not see many hotels at all in the centre

Reviewer:Wendy P | Tue 30th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

It was a great place to stay, location was good, and the room was really clean. What more could you want?

Reviewer:Ben R | Tue 30th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly owner, we found a spotless clean room incl. bath in a well maintained house. The full english breakfast is very good and after you feel fit for the day and Oxford. A bus stop is just 1 minute away, so the city centre is easy to reach. Free Car parking in the back of the house. We come again.

Reviewer:Hartmut F | Sun 21st May 2017 | 1 year ago


O2 Academy gig and sightseeing - Rating 5/5

Nice clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff and free wifi. Good price for Oxford hotels and ideally placed for the O2 Academy and sightseeing in Oxford (both approx 20 mins walk). Nice cooked breakfast and breakfast selection and free car parking.

Reviewer:Keith S | Sat 20th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent attention - Rating 4/5

Excellent attention and perfect breakfast.

Reviewer:Maria Jose Torres A | Fri 19th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend with Mum - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay - very clean, welcoming and friendly. The staff and John the Manager couldn't do enough and we felt very happy to be there

Reviewer:Lorraine G | Mon 15th May 2017 | 1 year ago


The Balkan Lodge Hotel Oxford - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, clean accommodation. Friendly welcoming staff. Excellent breakfast selection. Ideally located for Oxford City Centre and the River Thames.

Reviewer:Mrs R | Mon 15th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Last minute booking - Rating 4/5

Everything at The Balkan Lodge Hotel was clean and tidy with a very good welcome and good choice at breakfast. Fitted our requirements perfectly.

Reviewer:Mr. AndrewR | Fri 12th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Positieve revieuw - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant people in the hotel.Hotel itself very good for visiting oxford but also a good base for cartrips to the cotswalds.

Reviewer:arthur s | Sun 7th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Loveley clean hotel - Rating 5/5

Hotel was amazingly clean and tidy. Will book to stay there again.Though shame breakfast was not included in price.

Reviewer:MARK H | Fri 5th May 2017 | 1 year ago


All perfectly correct. - Rating 4/5

I would definietly recommend this hotel to my friends. Nice service , clean rooms, decent price.

Reviewer:krystian z | Wed 3rd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Great one night stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly, helpful staff. Very comfortable and clean. Good location - within walking distance of centre and also on bus route. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Louisa H | Wed 3rd May 2017 | 1 year ago


good english hotel - Rating 5/5

Very kind hotel owner. Very good personally waited breakfast. Nice cosey rooms. Very good beds. Free Carpark. Hotel is well situated.We will certainly come back.

Reviewer:Paul S | Sat 29th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely clean hotel, superb breakfast - Rating 4/5

Warm friendly and inviting, lovely place to stay, clean comfortable bedroom, larger than a standard single bed, very comfy, tastefully decorated room, very small ensuite with great shower though! Towels could have been a little more luxurious (fraid round the edges) i was in room 2 which was at the front of the property which there was road noise ( even with the windows closed ) plenty of tea and coffee with biscuits in the room, a tv and phone, dressing table and wardrobe plenty of space for hanging clothes. On site car park. Would stay again ( needed to stay close to john radcliffe hospital ) having said that i did feel a little overpriced ? But the friendly clean and attention made up for this

Reviewer:Amanda E | Thu 27th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Sunny,wonderful weekend in Oxford - Rating 5/5

Stayed in hotel for one night with my family.Excellent choice for a hotel,close to town with taxi 6 minutes,free wifii clean,comfortable beds,great breakfast with lots of choice.Free car park, we also could use next day after check out.The staff very friendly and helpful.High recommended.Thank you very much.

Reviewer:Gosia G | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


excellent stay - as always - Rating 5/5

This is my 4th stay at The Balkan Lodge. It is a perfect place to stay away from the city.Comfy beds clean room, excellent breakfast with plenty of choices.i have recommended to all my friends! staff are charming!!

Reviewer:Shirley R | Tue 5th Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


Easter visit - Rating 4/5

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights on the nights of 6 - 7 April. The welcome was warm and friendly, the room pleasant. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel only a short bus ride from the centre of Oxford. Will stay again next time we visit Oxford and recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan M | Tue 10th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Weekend in Oxford - Rating 4/5

Balkan Lodge was excellent. Quiet room even though overlooking a busy road. Clean and comfortable. Friendly and welcoming. Plenty of good advice about getting in and out of Oxford - just ten minutes away on a regular bus service from across the road. Breakfast perfectly adequate. Easy parking at the rear.

Reviewer:Dave M | Mon 26th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Good value for money - Rating 4/5

We have stayed at the Balkan Lodge Hotel several times and for the price can highly recommend it for cleanliness and comfort.The staff are very friendly and helpful.It is very convenient for the city centre.There is an excellent choice for breakfast and very filling.We shall certainly stay there again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Nancy R | Mon 22nd Aug 2011 | 6 years ago


Tired hotel but decent value - Rating 4/5

I booked the 4 poster room for my girlfiends birthday as we'd never stayed in a 4 poster before. The hotel itself could do with updating it's decor but the staff were friendly and the room was clean. The 4 poster bed itself was great and would cost a lot more to stay in one in most places, the hotel is close enough that you can walk into the centre without too much hassle or taxi's aren't that expensive either, there was a bit of traffic noise at night as you really had to leave the window open during the night as there was no A/C and it was a hot summers evening. Breakfast was ok with a decent choice of hot foods alongside the usual cereals etc, though the quality of the ingredients (bacon/sausage etc) left a little to be desired. Overall a pleasant stay, though I'm not sure I'd bother with a normal room here the 4 poster is well worth booking if you want to experience one!

Reviewer:Mr. Alastair R | Mon 4th Jul 2011 | 6 years ago


Our stay - Rating 4/5

A friendly welcome with infomative advicecomfortable and clean room good parking on site, will again when coming to Oxford.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian R | Thu 30th Jun 2011 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 4/5

We stayed one night 20th June 2011.We were very comfortable and well looked after.Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol B | Thu 23rd Jun 2011 | 6 years ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

I honestly enjoyed my stay. The room was clean and quiet. The staff was very polite and helpful. If I had more comfortable shoes with me I would enjoy walking to the city centre instead of taking the bus. In case I have to visit Oxford again in the future, I will definitely choose this hotel.

Reviewer:Miss. Aikaterini O | Fri 10th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Nice & Quiet - Rating 3/5

Nice and quiet hotel! I would recommend it to a friend!

Reviewer:Mr. AlejandroM | Sun 29th May 2011 | 7 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Ironing Service
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian